Tuesday, June 06, 2006

MUSIC IN THE AIR

In the last couple of days I've gotten press releases on two free (!) outdoor summer music programs in Santa Fe: The Santa Fe Bandstand series on the Plaza (hey! I don't see my brother's band!) and the new Music on the Hill at St. John’s College series.

The schedules are posted below.

Also, even though they're not free, don't forget Fan Man's Santa Fe Community picnic concert ( Ozomatli plus Ryan McGarvey, Sol Fire and Hundred Year Flood, July 2 at Fort Marcy); Frogfest (James McMurtry plus Frogville faves at Santa Fe Brewing Company, August 19 and 20); The Santa Fe Traditional & Bluegrass Music Festival (Bluegrass Patriots, Sweet Sunny South and more August 25-27 at the Santa Fe Rodeo Grounds); and The Thirsty Ear Festival (Dave Alvin, Honeyboy Edwards, Patty Griffin, Be Good Tanyas and others at Eaves Ranch, Labor Day Weekend).

2006 Santa Fe Bandstand Schedule

EVENINGS 6-8:30pm

Wed July 5 Opening Night

Albert & Gage Christine Albert & Chris Gage--High energy country-folk

Brother E. Clayton & the Mighty Soul Deacons Classic soul

Thurs. July 6 International Folk Art Market Night

Round Mountain Enchanting mix of Middle Eastern, Balkan, Celtic and Folk

Los Pinguos Putumayo Recording Artists --Argentine folk groove band


Mon. July 10 Bill Hearne Living legend acoustic country folk artist

South by Southwest Premier southwestern swing and country band

Tues. July 11 Jono Manson Santa Fe Legend returns with his rootsy rock 'n roll

Alex Maryol Band Original rock 'n roll and blues music

Wed July 12 Don Lovato Group Latin smooth jazz and pop

Caldo Tlalpeno Classic Mexican Music from Cuidad Juarez

Thurs. July 13 New Mexico Music Commission Night

Red Earth Award winning Native funk, ska, rock, blues, jazz

Brother E & The Blue Rhythm Kings Award winning NM Soul and R&B Band

Mon. July 17 The Twobers w/ One Foundation Live hip-hop and a twist of funk & reggae

Key Frances Original Psychedelic Funk

Tues. July 18 Just Friends Straight ahead classical jazz
Busy McCarroll and the Ambassadors of Pleasure Power jazz pop noir

Wed. July 19 Mariachi Buenaventura New Mexico’s first all female mariachi

Johnny Hernandez & Crossroads Tejano recording artist

Thurs. July 20 Stephanie Sieberth New Orleans' Jazz vocalist
Ron Helman Jazz Ensemble Jazz music of the 50’s and 60’s

Mon. July 24 Y. Que Latino rock world fusion

Jaka Afro pop funk fusion


Tues. July 25 Joe West Way out west honky-tonk and originals
Shannon McNally New Orleans' soulful singer and entrancing songwriter

Wed. July 26 Spanish Market Night

Santa Fe Suzuki Institute Young students playing strings and flute

Manzanares Nuevo Flamenco meets Latin Rock

Thurs. July 27 Ken Valdez Rock with Blues and Latin influence
The Motet Touring Colorado afro-beat groove band

Mon. July 31 The Rifters Southwestern Americana
The Pleasure Pilots Rhythm 'n blues, jump and swing

Tues. Aug. 1 Public Safety Night

Hillary Smith & Hip Pocket Old school funkiness, R&B and power house blues
The Jimmy Stadler Band High energy rock--NM Mic Award for Best CD of 2006

Wed. Aug. 2 Cherry Tempo Indie rock

Sol Fire Rock pop with a Latin edge

Thurs. Aug. 3 Night Train Roadhouse blues and R&B
Teri Lee Browning Heart felt beat driven pop


Mon. Aug. 7 Boris McCutcheon Psychedelic desert rat music

Hundred Year Flood Rockin' Americana

Tues. Aug. 8 Sean Helean Band Western rock
HooDoos Bluzrok

Wed. Aug. 9 Native Spirits Contemporary and traditional Native American music
Bermudez/ Valentine Quartet Nuevo Santa Fe

Thurs. Aug. 10 Samba Fe The beat of Santa Fe
Wagogo World beat—Memphis to Mozambique to Mexico

Mon. Aug. 14 Toast Original roots rock

The Hollis Wake Infectious Pop that seriously rocks

Tues. Aug. 15 Ruben Romero with band--virtuoso Spanish and flamenco guitarist

Prince Diabate with band --master kora player from Guinea, West Africa

Wed. Aug. 16 Latina Night

Nacha Mendez, Gioia Tama, Busy McCarroll de Alsaro, Karmela Gonzales, Bobbi Jo Marquez and Lisa Martinez

Thurs. Aug. 17 Indian Market Night

Iyah Reggae soul
Native Roots Native reggae

Mon. Aug. 21 Santa Fe Traditional & Bluegrass Music Festival Night

Atomic Grass Traditional bluegrass

Elliot’s Ramblers Great old bluegrass in a brand new way

Tues. Aug. 22 Taarka A synergy of sounds that blends bluegrass, folk, gypsy and jazz

Georgie Angel Blues Band featuring Junior Brown Feel good blues

Wed. Aug. 23 Los Wise Guys Variety of golden oldies and Beatle covers

Buena Suerte Cumbias, polkas, country, rock and oldies

Thurs. Aug. 25 The Swank Jam funk blues roots band
Julie Stewart & The Motor Kings High energy rockin' blues

AFTERNOONS Noon to 1:30

Thurs. July 6 Velarde Trio Traditional New Mexican old time music

Tues. July 11 The Watermelon Mountain Jug Band Eclectic mix of country and bluegrass

Thurs. July 13 Fiddlin' Doc Gonzales Classic country swing

Tues. July 18 The Hot Club of Santa Fe Hot swing, gypsy Jazz and Bluegrass

Thurs., July 20 Straight Up Be-bop jazz quintet

Tues. July 25 Don and Victoria Armstrong Southwest folk and original favorites

Thurs. July 27 Laurianne Fiorentino Powerful original acoustic music

Tues. Aug. 1 Mike Owens & Sister Mary Evans Acoustic Jazz and Pop

Thurs. Aug. 3 Jaime Michaels Original singer songwriter

Tues. Aug. 8 Larry & Leslie Latour Folk rock jazz blues

Thurs. Aug. 10 Justin Bransford & Jetpack Rental Groove-based improv trio

Tues. Aug. 15 Trio Los Musicanos Northern New Mexico traditional and modern music

Thurs. Aug. 17 Terry Diers & Sweet Sister Sweet R&B

Tues. Aug. 22 Love Buzzards A reunion of old friends who love traditional folk music

Thurs. Aug. 24 Trillium Marimba Marimba and guitar family band


Music on the Hill at St. John’s College

June 14 Jazz with Chris Calloway

June 21 Jazz with Ron Helman

June 28 Latin Jazz with Terra Plena

July 12 Folk Blues with Chris Dracup Trio

July 19 Jazz with Cathy McGill w/ Bert Dalton Trio

July 26 Calypso with Frank Leto

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

TERRELL'S SOUND WORLD PLAYLIST

Sunday, June 9, 2024 KSFR, Santa Fe, NM, 101.1 FM  Webcasting! 10 p.m. to midnight Sundays Mountain Time Host: Steve Terrell Email...